Toll Free Numbers
  • Last 5 Forum Topics
    Last post

The Web Only This Site



  • MARC

    Mailing list ARChives
    - Search by -


    Computing Dictionary

  • Text Link Ads
  • LINUX man pages
  • Linux Man Page Viewer

    The following form allows you to view linux man pages.





           The  boot  sequence  varies in details among systems but can be roughly
           divided to the following steps: (i) hardware boot, (ii) operating  sys-
           tem  (OS) loader, (iii) kernel startup, (iv) init and inittab, (v) boot
           scripts.  We will describe each of these in more detail below.
           After power-on or hard reset, control is given to a program  stored  on
           read-only  memory  (normally PROM).  In PC we usually call this program
           the BIOS.
           This program normally makes  a  basic  self-test  of  the  machine  and
           accesses nonvolatile memory to read further parameters.  This memory in
           the PC is battery-backed CMOS memory, so most people refer to it as the
           CMOS,  although  outside  of  the  PC world, it is usually called nvram
           (nonvolatile ram).
           The parameters stored in the nvram vary between systems, but as a mini-
           mum,  the hardware boot program should know what is the boot device, or
           which devices to probe as possible boot devices.
           Then the hardware boot stage accesses the boot  device,  loads  the  OS
           loader,  which  is  located on a fixed position on the boot device, and
           transfers control to it.
           Note:  We do not cover here booting from network.  Those  who  want  to
                  investigate  this subject may want to research: DHCP, TFTP, PXE,
       OS loader
           In PC, the OS loader is located in the first sector of the boot  device
           - this is the MBR (Master Boot Record).
           In  most  systems,  this  primary loader is very limited due to various
           constraints.  Even on non-PC systems there are some limitations to  the
           size  and  complexity of this loader, but the size limitation of the PC
           MBR (512 bytes including the partition table) makes it almost  impossi-
           ble to squeeze a full OS loader into it.
           Therefore,  most  operating systems make the primary loader call a sec-
           ondary OS loader which may be located on a specified disk partition.
           In Linux the OS loader is normally lilo(8) or grub(8).   Both  of  them
           may  install  either  as secondary loaders (where the DOS installed MBR
           points to them), or as a two part loader where they provide special MBR
           containing  the  bootstrap  code  to load the second part of the loader
           from the root partition.
           The main job of the OS loader is to locate the kernel on the disk, load
           it and run it.  Most OS loaders allow interactive use, to enable speci-
           fication of alternative kernel (maybe a backup in case  the  last  com-
           piled  one  isn't  functioning)  and to pass optional parameters to the
       init and inittab
           When init starts it reads /etc/inittab for further instructions.   This
           file defines what should be run in different run-levels.
           This  gives  the  system administrator an easy management scheme, where
           each run-level is associated with a set of services (e.g, S is  single-
           user,  on 2 most network services start).  The administrator may change
           the current run-level via init(8) and query the current  run-level  via
           However,  since  it  is not convenient to manage individual services by
           editing this file, inittab only bootstraps a set of scripts that  actu-
           ally start/stop the individual services.
       Boot scripts
           Note:  The  following  description  applies to System V release 4-based
                  systems, which currently covers  most  commercial  UNIX  systems
                  (Solaris, HP-UX, Irix, Tru64) as well as the major Linux distri-
                  butions (Red Hat, Debian, Mandriva, SUSE, Ubuntu).  Some systems
                  (Slackware  Linux,  FreeBSD,  OpenBSD) have a somewhat different
                  scheme of boot scripts.
           For each managed service (mail, nfs server, cron, etc.) there is a sin-
           gle startup script located in a specific directory (/etc/init.d in most
           versions of Linux).  Each of these scripts accepts as a single argument
           the word "start" -- causing it to start the service, or the word "stop"
           -- causing it to stop the service.  The script  may  optionally  accept
           other "convenience" parameters (e.g: "restart", to stop and then start,
           "status" to display the service status).  Running  the  script  without
           parameters displays the possible arguments.
       Sequencing directories
           To  make specific scripts start/stop at specific run-levels and in spe-
           cific order, there are sequencing directories.  These are  normally  in
           /etc/rc[0-6S].d.  In each of these directories there are links (usually
           symbolic) to the scripts in the /etc/init.d directory.
           A primary script (usually /etc/rc) is called from inittab(5) and  calls
           the  services scripts via the links in the sequencing directories.  All
           links with names that begin with 'S' are being called with the argument
           "start"  (thereby  starting  the  service).   All links with names that
           begin with 'K' are being called with the argument "stop" (thereby stop-
           ping the service).
           To define the starting or stopping order within the same run-level, the
           names of the links contain order-numbers.   Also,  to  make  the  names
           clearer,  they  usually end with the name of the service they refer to.
           Example: the link /etc/rc2.d/S80sendmail starts the sendmail service on
           runlevel  2.  This happens after /etc/rc2.d/S12syslog is run but before
           /etc/rc2.d/S90xfs is run.
           /etc/init.d  source  the configuration files, and then use the variable


           /etc/init.d/, /etc/rc[S0-6].d/, /etc/sysconfig/


           inittab(5), bootparam(7), init(8), runlevel(8), shutdown(8)

    Linux 2010-09-19 BOOT(7)


  • Linux

    The Distributions


    The Software


    The News


  • Toll Free

Toll Free Numbers
Copyright © 1999 - 2016 by LinuxGuruz